Marcos Balter
About The Series

Composer Portraits

A cornerstone of Miller’s programming, these evening-length musical profiles explore the work of a single...

Composer Portraits

Marcos Balter

International Contemporary Ensemble

Thursday, November 16, 2017, 8pm

Miller Theatre at Columbia University

“I am lucky to always know who will be premiering my works while I am writing them,” says Marcos Balter. It seems only fitting that this Portrait features the International Contemporary Ensemble, for whom Balter has written numerous works spanning more than a decade. Wickedly humorous, colorful, and unapologetically sensual, Balter’s music has earned him a passionate following. These elements are showcased in a program that includes Descent from Parnassus and Codex Seraphinianus, two works written for ICE.



  • Violin Concerto  (2016)
  • Landscape of Fear (2015)
  • Codex Seraphinianus (2014)
  • Pois que nada que dure, ou que durando (2013) New York premiere
  • Descent from Parnassus (2012)
  • Raw Item (2005)

Additional Information

Major support for Composer Portraits is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Photo by Matt Zugale for Miller Theatre.