Bach: The Complete Solo Violin Works
Photo by Fran Kaufman
About The Series

Bach, Revisited

The Bach series has evolved over the years, encompassing both historically informed performances and modern...

Bach, Revisited

Bach: The Complete Solo Violin Works

Jennifer Koh

Sunday, October 23, 2011, 2pm

This event has ended.

  Perhaps Brahms best described what Bach achieved with his landmark solo violin works: “On one stave, for a small instrument, the man writes a whole world of the deepest thoughts and most powerful feelings.” The exceptional violinist Jennifer Koh follows up her acclaimed rendition of these works, heard over several recitals in Miller’s 2009-10 Lunchtime series, with this marathon performance of all six solo sonatas and partitas, played over the course of a single afternoon.

This program will be performed with two brief pauses and will conclude by 5 p.m.



  • Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001
  • Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002
  • Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003
  • Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004
  • Sonata No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1005
  • Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006