Two x Four
Program Notes

Two x Four

The compositional dialogue between past and present resonates throughout tonight’s program, not only...

Two x Four

Jennifer Koh, Jaime Laredo

Wednesday, March 13, 2013, 8pm

This event has ended.

    Two great violinists team up to perform four double-concertos, starting with Bach’s beloved Concerto for two violins in D minor. Rounding out the program are Philip Glass’s tranquil Echorus and two newly commissioned pieces by David Ludwig and Anna Clyne, inspired by Bach and written especially for Koh and Laredo. The orchestra features exceptional young players from the Curtis Institute of Music, Koh and Laredo’s alma mater, and the institution where they first played the Bach double together as teacher and student.


  • Jennifer Koh violin
  • Jaime Laredo violin
  • Curtis Chamber Orchestra
  • Vinay Parameswaran conductor


  • J.S. Bach Concerto for 2 violins, strings, and continuo in D Minor, BWV 1043
  • Philip Glass Echorus (1995)
  • Anna Clyne Prince of Clouds New York premiere
  • David Ludwig Seasons Lost New York premiere
  • Tchaikovsky Serenade for strings in C Major, Op. 48