Passing on the Kunqu Art: From Master to Disciples

The Kunqu Society

Sunday, April 19, 2015, 2pm

This event has ended.

This Kunqu Society performance introduces four signature plays of Kunqu Master Jiqing Zhang to American audiences:

“A Maddening Dream,” an episode from “Ballad of The Rotten-Ax Mountain”

“A Stroll in the Garden,” “An Interrupted Dream,” and “Dreamland Revisited,” three episodes from “The Peony Pavilion” (by Xianzu Tang in 1598 A.D.)

Ms. Fang Wang, Master Jiqing Zhang’s disciple, Plum Blossom Award winner
Mr. Jiulin Yu, Plum Blossom Award winner
Ms. Yuxian Weng
and other outstanding Kunqu artists from Suzhou Kunqu Opera Institute, Suzhou, China.

About Kunqu Theatre
Kunqu is a classical Chinese theatre which combines singing, dancing and acting to literary works by masters of Ming and Qing Dynasties (16th to 18th Centuries). In 2001, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization proclaimed Kunqu a “Masterpiece of oral and intangible heritage of humanity.”


All tickets are suggested donation. For tickets please contact Anna Chen Wu at For more information about The Kunqu Society please visit

Additional Information

The Society is offering complimentary tickets to Columbia faculty members and students. Each student can get one ticket, each faculty member up to two. Tickets will be available the day of the performance with a valid CU ID, at the Kunqu Society ticketing table in the Miller Theatre lobby.